Vedas in its pure form though can be understood by the Rishis (who had that acquired intellect), such rishis authored Brahmans which can be stated to be the first interpretations of the Vedas. Some scholars have mistaken Brahmanas to be a part of the original Vedas. Brihal Parashar Smriti defines thus "A Brahman is a book which tells the meaning of Vedic Mantras and its use". Similarly in Vaishaishik Darshan, Maharshi Kannaaad says "Brahmanas defines words of the Vedas and its meanings. In ancient times there where many Brahmanas, but currently only six are to be found:-

    1. Aitareya Brahman Granth based on Rig Veda authored by Rishi Aitareya Mahidaas.

    2. Shankhyayan Brahman Granth based on Rig Veda

    3. Kaushtiki Brahman based on Rig Veda

    4. Shatapath Brahman Granth based on Yajurveda

    5. Maha-Tandya Brahman Granth based on Sam Veda

    6. Gopath Brahman Granth based on Atharva Veda

The following titles are notable on the Brahman Granths:-