Veda Vyasa

A straight line passing through the centre of a circle and touching two opposites on the circle's circumference is generally called the Vyasa. In that sense, anyone making deep search into the Vedas can be called VedaVyasa.

Krishna Dvaipayana who is the author of MahaBharata is better known as VedaVyasa. Some say that he divided the Vedas into four parts. Howover, this view is not correct. The scriptures like Ramayana, Manusmriti, etc., and even the Vedas themselves have talked about the existence of four Vedas viz., Rik, Sama, Yajuh and Atharva. All these books date back of the times of MahaBharata and VedaVyasa. Therefore, the four divisions of the Vedas have been existing from the beginning.